Foods to avoid
Any food which contains wheat, barley or rye should be avoided if you have coeliac disease. Even a small amount of exposure to gluten can trigger an immune reaction in coeliac disease patients.
Foods to avoid include:
Bread, biscuits, pasta, cakes, pies, beer and processed meats.
Gluten can also be found in non-food items such as lipstick, vitamins, and over-the-counter medicines, etc.
For more information on how to avoid gluten, you can contact your local coeliac disease patient support group.